Commercial partnership. This article contains affiliate links. If you book through these links, Pixidia earns a small commission at no extra cost to you.
Learn more Partners: Viator
In November 2026, you can join an olive harvest in Tuscany or Andalusia, but no official date has been published. Tuscan harvests mostly fall in November, Andalusia’s campaign opened on 1 October with 1,261,200 tonnes forecast, and in Italy tourist picking is capped at two hours a day, unpaid.
Checked on 27 October 2026 against the official sources cited (the Italian protocol, MAPA, AEMET) and the operators’ pages.
Joining an olive harvest can mean a half-day under the nets, a mill visit and a bottle of new oil, or several nights on an estate. For the 2026 season, those formats aren’t equivalent, and neither are the rules. This guide compares Tuscany, Andalusia and Crete on four points: what has been announced for 2026, what the law covers, what it costs and how rain can change things. It doesn’t repeat the oil routes and open-mill days already covered in our 2026 oleotourism guide and in the Frantoi Aperti guide to Umbria.
1. Four ways to take part
« Taking part » covers very different experiences. Price, length and physical effort change from one format to the next, so check this first before you book.
A half-day guided picking session. You pick olives by net or by hand, visit the mill, then have lunch. This is the most common format in Tuscany and Andalusia: Torciano, Villa La Massa and the OMED Almazara, near Granada, all offer it.An agritourism stay with harvest work. Several nights, meals at the farm and some work in the grove when the season allows. Villa La Massa sells a two-night stay, but the exact dates still need confirming with the operator.A guided day trip with transport. A minibus from a big city, a visit and a tasting. Some days sold as a harvest don’t include any picking: Ronda is covered in more detail below.Informal help at a friend’s or neighbour’s. It happens outside any framework, without insurance and without known rules. It isn’t covered here and shouldn’t be presented as a tourist activity.
Grape harvests, paid seasonal jobs and the experiences in Sicily, Puglia or Croatia are outside the scope of this guide. The following sections go through these formats country by country.
2. The legal framework: a national protocol in Italy, nothing comparable confirmed elsewhere
In July 2025, the National Labour Inspectorate (INL) and the national association of Olive Oil Towns (Città dell’Olio) signed a protocol that creates a specific activity: tourist olive picking. Quotidiano.net, in its 14 October 2025 edition, presents it as a first: a guided experience « designed to discover and understand, not to produce » (translated from Italian). Each visitor receives safety equipment and an identification badge, and the activity is insured.
The table below sets out the protocol’s rules. They determine what you can actually do in Italy, and what an offer cannot claim to be.
Rules of the Italian protocol for tourist olive picking (July 2025)RuleValueProtocol articlePaynoneart. 4Maximum lengthtwo hours a dayart. 4Frequencytwo sessions a week at most, at the same farmart. 2Insurancethe farm’s civil liability insurance, compulsoryart. 6Machines and sacksagricultural machines and loading sacks bannedart. 5Validitythree yearsart. 9
Source: INL and Città dell’Olio protocol (PDF, July 2025), checked on 27 October 2026.
Two practical consequences. First, Villa La Massa’s two-night stay (2 to 6 November) cannot be a tourist picking session under the protocol: it is a stay, and it should be read as one. Second, we could not check whether Villa La Massa, Torciano or Fattoria di Maiano are registered under this protocol. Ask the operator directly before booking. No equivalent text was found for Spain or Greece, as detailed below.
3. Tuscany: November, on operators’ windows

Photo by Andreas Weilguny
on UnsplashFlorence and the Tuscan hills
€250 to €1,205
3 hours to 2 nights
Rescheduling possible
October to November
Tuscany has the most visible offers for 2026, with Florence as the gateway. None of them is an official harvest date: these are dates published by the estates themselves.
Highlights A hand-picking introduction with an olive grower (Torciano) A mill visit and a tasting of the first pressing, on site Lunch at the farm: Torciano serves it with a wine tasting, Villa La Massa at its restaurant with the new oil
Pixidia tip: read the cancellation terms before booking. Torciano asks for seven days’ notice and doesn’t allow changes in bad weather; Villa La Massa offers rescheduling.
The card below suits someone who wants a day on a farm, with lunch made from garden produce, more than a harvest. Its listing says « depending on the season, we could pick » olives: no picking is guaranteed. It stands out for three wines, cold-pressed olive oil served at lunch and a seven-and-a-half-hour day. The listing advises against this day for people with cardiovascular problems, asks for a moderate fitness level and a WhatsApp message 48 hours before the date. The catch: train tickets from Florence to San Miniato are not included, and cancellation is only 100% refundable up to 24 hours before departure. Window checked on 27 October 2026: two open days out of thirty in November, the 12th and 19th.
Farm to table experience on an organic hilltop estate in Tuscany★ 5.05 · 165 reviewsPartner link
€320 for 2 adults (€160 per person), on 12 and 19 November 2026 (checked 27 October)
See dates
Maiano, in Fiesole, announces activities from 5 October to 22 November 2026, according to a Familygo article dated 12 October 2026. Activities are arranged when you book, and no price is given for picking. The estate was not contacted to confirm these dates.
Villa La Massa, in Candeli, runs a guided harvest from 2 to 6 November 2026. You meet at reception at 9:45 am; picking starts around 10:00 am, followed by a snack, a mill visit and lunch at the L’Oliveto Bistrot restaurant with the new oil. Its « The Art of Olive Harvest » offer is a two-night stay from €1,205 per person, with a shuttle to central Florence and daily breakfast. The exact dates of this two-night stay still need confirming with the operator. Cancellation is free up to seven days before arrival, and the programme can change in bad weather, with a rescheduling option.
Torciano offers a half-day at €250 per adult, tip and taxes included. The stated length is about 180 minutes, with departures at 9:00 am, 11:00 am, 3:00 pm or 4:00 pm depending on the text. The minimum is two people, and the shuttle from Florence is charged on request. Booking is required, subject to availability, and the offer runs in English and Italian. The page contradicts itself on dates: the title says « 1 to 30 November », the body text says « November and December ». Ask for the exact date before you pay.
Two addresses appear on Familygo’s list without a price or a precise date. Casa Bada, 30 minutes from Florence, offers picking « in November and December », on request. Podere dei Nonni, in Scansano in the Maremma, offers it from mid-October to early November, also on request. For these two, the information is too vague to plan a trip around a date.
Most dated offers fall in November: Villa La Massa from 2 to 6 November, and Torciano according to its title, 1 to 30 November. For December, only Casa Bada appears, without a date, and Torciano’s body text. If you have a fixed slot, choose an estate that confirms dates in writing.
4. Andalusia: the campaign is open, but picking has a price

Photo by John Cameron
on UnsplashJaén, Granada and the Málaga province
From €85
About 3.5 hours
November rain
October to January
Andalusia produces the largest share of Spain’s olive oil. Picking there is sold as a service, with no national framework equivalent to the Italian protocol.
Highlights Picking your own olives with OMED Almazara, near Granada The Fiesta de la Aceituna in Martos, from 19 November to 12 December 2026 A rail link to Linares-Baeza, on the edge of Jaén
Pixidia tip: ask the operator whether picking is on the programme for the day you choose. The « grove » offer we read, in Ronda, doesn’t mention any harvest.
The Spanish Ministry of Agriculture (MAPA) published a preliminary forecast for the 2026/27 campaign on 1 October 2026: 1,602,596 tonnes nationally, up 23%. Andalusia is forecast at 1,261,200 tonnes (+29%), close to 79% of the total. Jaén province is put at 575,000 tonnes in the same note.
This figure can’t be compared directly with the previous campaign. According to the newspaper Ultima Hora (22 January 2026), the regional government estimated Jaén’s 2025/26 output at 475,000 tonnes. These are two different campaigns and two different sources. Keep only the announced rise for 2026/27, which remains a forecast.
The 2025/26 campaign shows that the calendar depends mostly on rain. Rain in November, December and January halted harvesting over the Christmas holidays in Jaén. UPA estimated that more than two-thirds of the crop had been picked by the end of January, and Asaja expected a campaign about a month longer.
In Martos, the Fiesta de la Aceituna runs from 19 November to 12 December 2026, according to Festivales de España. It marks the start of the campaign. The season’s first oil is extracted there with a manual press, in principle on 8 December, but the town hall has not yet published the detailed programme. It is a festival, not a tourist harvest: you go to watch, not to pick.
The clearest offer is that of OMED Almazara, in Ventas de Huelma (province of Granada), listed on Spain.info: €85 per person, taxes included, for 3.5 hours. It includes picking from the estate’s own olive trees, a guided tour of the grove, an explanation of how the process works, a tasting and a personalised bottle. The page gives no dates or times for the day, and the optional Andalusian breakfast has no published price.
Watch out for the Ronda counter-example. Winedering offers an 8-hour day at €240 per adult, with minibus transport from Málaga, a visit and a tasting at an organic grove. Picking isn’t mentioned. The programme runs Tuesday to Saturday, in the morning, in English only.
On climate, the Jaén AEMET station, at 580 m altitude, records over the 1983-2010 normals an average of 62 mm of rain in November, 6.9 rainy days and 12.3°C. Extracts from AEMET bulletins show large swings from one year to the next: 98.2 mm in 2019, 69.6 mm in 2020 and 52.8 mm in 2021. These values come from pages read in extracts: treat them as orders of magnitude.
Harvest or participation offers found for 2026, by venueVenueFormatDates 2026PriceWhat’s includedVilla La Massa, Candeli (Tuscany)two-night stay, picking in the morning2 to 6 November 2026 (two-night stay: to be confirmed)from €1,205 per personpicking, mill, lunch, shuttle to Florence, breakfastTorciano (Tuscany)half-day, about 3 hoursNovember (title) or November and December (text)€250 per adulthand-picking introduction, pressing, Tuscan lunch, wine tastingFattoria di Maiano (Fiesole, Tuscany)activities to be arranged5 October to 22 November 2026not statedto be agreed with the estateOMED Almazara, Ventas de Huelma (Granada)half-day, 3.5 hoursnot specified€85 per person, taxes includedpicking of its own olives, visit, tasting, bottleWinedering (Ronda)guided day, 8 hours, Tuesday to Saturdaynot specified€240 per adulttransport, guide, visit (picking not mentioned)
Source: operators’ pages (Villa La Massa, Torciano, Winedering), Familygo (12 October 2026), Spain.info (OMED Almazara), checked on 27 October 2026.
To reach Jaén, the Linares-Baeza high-speed station is the closest to the north of the province. An Alsa shuttle connects it to Úbeda (Alsa page checked on 27 October 2026). The Renfe Seville-Linares-Baeza service is described once a day, in about 2 hours 35 minutes, by an undated route aggregator: check the timetable on Renfe’s website before you travel.
5. Crete: a harvest from November to January, with no date published

Photo by Egor Myznik
on UnsplashChania, Rethymno and Heraklion
From €140 (reseller, unverified)
About 5 hours
16 to 20°C by day
November to January
In Crete, the harvest is described as running from November to January, depending on the year. No source we read gives a start date for 2026.
Highlights First « Agoureleo » pressings from the start of November The Tsounati variety, mostly grown around Rethymno A regular shuttle between Chania airport and the town
Pixidia tip: don’t book a Cretan offer until you have the price per person, the length and the exact programme in writing.
Argophilia, in an article published on 4 July 2026, expects 2026/27 output to rebound significantly after a historically low year, with a harvest described as moderate to good. The article gives no harvest start date. Another article on the same site, undated, describes a harvest from November to January, with pressings at the start of each month.
The paid harvest experiences we found in Crete are run by operators. Kera Treasures, in Chania, advertises a « Full Moon Olive Harvest » of about five hours, from €140 according to a resale platform. We could not read the operator’s page (error 403), so this price is unverified.
We found no Greek legal framework in the sources we read. We don’t know whether a visitor may pick olives free of charge from a private owner, and we don’t advise it outside an organised offer. On climate, rainfall estimates for November in Heraklion range from 63 to 90 mm depending on the site consulted, with daytime temperatures of 16 to 20°C. The Greek meteorological service could not be consulted.
For Chania airport, a regular shuttle links the airport to the town. Its 2026 fare and timetable have not been verified. Private transfers also exist: compare them with the shuttle price before you choose.
6. Compare the windows and pricesHarvest or participation windows announced, by regionRegionAnnounced startAnnounced endSourceStatusTuscany (operator offers)5 October 2026 (Maiano)30 November 2026 (Torciano, title)Familygo; Torcianounofficial, operator datesAndalusia (campaign)1 October 2026 (official opening)December or January, depending on rainMAPA; Ultima Horaofficial for the opening, end not setJaén (Martos festival)19 November 202612 December 2026Festivales de Españadetailed programme not publishedCreteNovember (average)JanuaryArgophilia (undated)old, unofficial
Source: MAPA, note of 1 October 2026, Festivales de España, Argophilia, checked on 27 October 2026.
The most useful reading comes down to three points. The Tuscan windows are the only ones covering a specific bookable period in November. The Italian framework is the only one set by an official text. And the Andalusian and Cretan dates depend on rain and the campaign, not on a picking calendar.
7. Budget: what a half-day costs
A half-day of guided picking costs between €85 and €250 per person. The first figure is OMED Almazara’s, in Andalusia, taxes included, for 3.5 hours. The second is Torciano’s, in Tuscany, for about three hours with lunch and a wine tasting. A two-night harvest stay at Villa La Massa starts at €1,205 per person, with accommodation, meals and the shuttle.
Plan for transport too. From Florence, the regional bus goes to Siena, with a drop-off at Piazza Gramsci, according to a 2019 guide updated in 2022. For the Chianti, we found no direct link: you’ll need a taxi or a private transfer. The price of a transfer has not been verified.
For context, Argophilia cites a producer price of about €3.80 per kilo of extra virgin oil in Crete in 2026. That is a farm-gate selling price, not a picking rate. Picking won’t get you cheaper oil: you pay for the experience and, sometimes, a bottle.
8. Mistakes to avoid and which option suits youBooking a « harvest » without checking that picking is included. Winedering, in Ronda, sells a day in a grove with no picking mentioned. Ask for the programme in writing.Taking a half-day for a stay. The Italian protocol caps picking at two hours. A multi-day offer is accommodation with activities, not a tourist harvest.Assuming a fixed date. Torciano shows two different periods on the same page. Confirm your slot in writing.Picking on private land. Never pick without the owner’s written agreement.Ignoring the rain. The 2025/26 campaign in Jaén was slowed by rain, and Asaja expected it to run about a month longer. Choose an offer with rescheduling (Villa La Massa); at Torciano the location can change and the booking can’t be modified.
For a first time, Torciano is the most readable format: a hand-picking introduction, a pressing on site and lunch, all in one half-day. For a family, Familygo, which covers travel with children, lists Maiano and Casa Bada, but without prices or detailed programmes: contact the estates. On a small budget, OMED Almazara’s picking is the cheapest verified offer, at €85 per person. For a couple who want to stay longer, Villa La Massa is still the only verified offer that combines picking and nights.
9. What other guides don’t tell you
The guides and offer pages read for this article don’t cover the following points. Each one links to a public source and its date of consultation.
Italian tourist olive picking is regulated. Two hours a day at most, unpaid, two sessions a week at the same farm, compulsory insurance. Familygo, Villa La Massa and Torciano don’t mention these limits. INL and Città dell’Olio protocol, July 2025 (checked 27 October 2026).A « grove » offer we read doesn’t mention any picking. Winedering, in Ronda, sells an organic grove for €240 with no picking listed on its page; check the written programme before you book a « harvest ». Winedering page (checked 27 October 2026).No official 2026 harvest start date has been published. Operators announce windows (Maiano from 5 October, Villa La Massa from 2 to 6 November). MAPA announced the opening of the Andalusian campaign on 1 October 2026, not a picking date, and Argophilia gives no date for Crete. MAPA note of 1 October 2026 (checked 27 October 2026).The GHIC is not a replacement for travel insurance. For UK residents, it replaces the EHIC and is free. It works in EEA countries, but it does not cover medical repatriation or treatment in a private facility, and state care is not always free abroad. Check these points in your travel insurance. NHS, free UK GHIC (checked 27 October 2026).Two hours of picking don’t make a stay. Villa La Massa sells two nights, and Maiano announces activities from 5 October to 22 November 2026. The picking itself stays short. Villa La Massa offer page (checked 27 October 2026); INL protocol, art. 4.10. Practical information
Bus strike in Tuscany
A 24-hour strike is planned for 30 October 2026 in the provinces of Livorno, Lucca and Massa-Carrara, according to at-bus.it. That site says Florence and Siena are not affected, but check the day of your journey.
Insurance and healthcare
The GHIC is free and works in EEA countries; Switzerland accepts it only for certain nationalities. It does not replace travel insurance: check that yours covers medical repatriation.
Getting to Jaén by train
Linares-Baeza station is linked to Úbeda by an Alsa shuttle. Check the Renfe timetable before you book accommodation.
Chania airport
A regular shuttle links the airport to the town. Its 2026 fare and timetable have not been verified: check them before you book a transfer.
Frequently asked questions
When is the olive harvest in 2026?
No official 2026 harvest start date has been published for the three regions. The harvest generally runs from October to January, depending on the variety, altitude and rain. In Tuscany, offers mostly fall in November: Maiano announces 5 October to 22 November, Villa La Massa 2 to 6 November. In Andalusia, the campaign opened on 1 October 2026 according to MAPA. In Crete, the harvest is described as running from November to January.
How much does an olive harvest cost?
A half-day of guided picking costs about €85 per person in Andalusia, taxes included, for 3.5 hours with OMED Almazara. In Tuscany, Torciano charges €250 per adult for about three hours, with lunch and a wine tasting. A two-night harvest stay with picking at Villa La Massa starts at €1,205 per person. In Crete, an offer is advertised from €140 through a reseller; the price has not been verified with the operator.
Can you pick olives for free in Italy?
Not without the farm’s written agreement. Tourist picking under the protocol is unpaid, meaning the visitor isn’t paid, and lasts two hours at most a day. The source doesn’t say whether it is free for the visitor: ask the operator for the price. The July 2025 protocol also requires the farm to hold civil liability insurance.
Do you need insurance to take part in a harvest?
Travel insurance is recommended. The Italian protocol requires the farm to hold civil liability insurance; how far that covers the participant has not been verified, so ask the operator. The GHIC gives access to state healthcare in EEA countries, but it does not replace travel insurance, and it never covers medical repatriation or treatment in a private facility. Outside the EEA, it doesn’t apply, and in Switzerland only certain nationalities can use it. Ask the operator which insurance it holds before you book.
Is the harvest cancelled if it rains?
It can be postponed. In 2025/26, rain from November to January slowed the campaign in Jaén, and Asaja expected it to run about a month longer. Tuscan offers include solutions for bad weather: Villa La Massa offers rescheduling, and Torciano can change the location, but the booking cannot be modified. Read the cancellation terms, which usually ask for seven days’ notice, before you pay.
How is an olive harvest done?
Olives are gathered with nets, rakes or by hand, often bent over or reaching into the branches, on ground that is sometimes sloped. The Tuscan offers include an introduction with an olive grower, then a mill visit and a tasting of the first oil. The Italian protocol bans agricultural machines and the loading of sacks. Tell the operator about any health problem before you pick.
Is a mill visit a harvest?
No. A mill visit shows the pressing, but it doesn’t involve picking. In the offers we read, picking is a short step followed by pressing and lunch. To know whether you will pick olives, read the written programme: in Ronda, Winedering sells an organic grove for €240 with no picking mentioned.
SourcesINL and Città dell’Olio protocol, tourist picking: rules of the activity, art. 2, 4, 5, 6 and 9 (July 2025).MAPA, 2026/27 campaign forecast: note of 1 October 2026, preliminary.AEMET, Jaén station normals: 1983-2010 values.Villa La Massa, offer and event page: dates, prices and terms.Torciano, Olive Harvest in Tuscany: price, length and terms.Familygo, raccolta delle olive: 2026 offers listed on 12 October 2026.Spain.info, Harvester for a day: the OMED Almazara offer.Winedering, Ronda: full-day guided trip with no picking mentioned.Ultima Hora, 2025/26 campaign in Jaén: rain and delay (22 January 2026).Festivales de España, Fiesta de la Aceituna in Martos: 2026 dates.Argophilia, Crete 2026: campaign forecast (4 July 2026).Argophilia, olive harvest in Crete: indicative calendar (undated).Quotidiano.net, Itinerari: presentation of the protocol (14 October 2025).NHS, free UK Global Health Insurance Card: eligibility, countries covered and limits.
Sources checked on 27 October 2026. Pages marked « extract » were read only through their summary.
Plan your trip with Pixidia
Pixidia learns how you travel and helps you build a trip that truly fits you and everyone coming along.
Open the planner

Dining and Cooking